La Jolla Concours d’Elegance Classes & Awards

In addition to Best in Show, Most Outstanding Pre-War, Most Outstanding Post-War, we award first, second, and third place awards for our classes.

The La Jolla Concours d’Elegance follows the 3 year rule except for featured classes. If you are registering for any of the below exempted classes, the 3 year rule does not apply.

1- American Classics

1a) American Classics Open (1917-1948)

1b) American Classics Closed (1929-1948)

2- Bugatti 1909-1963 Exempted Class

2a) Brescia and Early Cars

2b) Tourers

2c) Racing

2d) Grand Sport

2e) Grand Touring (Type 57’s will be split into Open and Closed Cars)

3- European Classics 1925 to 1955


4- Rolls-Royce & Bentley Exempted Class

4a) Rolls-Royce & Bentley Pre-War Open

4b) Rolls-Royce & Bentley Pre-War Closed

4c) Rolls-Royce & Bentley Post-War Open through 1965

4d) Rolls-Royce & Bentley Post-War Closed through 1965


5- Jaguar 1945-1975

6- American Muscle 1960-1974

7- European Cars Closed Top through 1978

8-European Cars Open Top through 1978


9-Mercedes-Benz 300SL

9a) Mercedes-Benz 300SL Roadsters 1957 – 1963

9b) Mercedes-Benz 300SL Coupe 1954-1957 Exempted Class

10- Porsche 1955-1975


11- Ferrari 1948-1995 Exempted Class


12- Japanese 1960-1980

13- Race Cars 1950-1986


14- Motorcycles

14a) Pre-War Motorcycles

14b) Post-War Motorcycles through 1988

Specialty Awards

-LPL Summit Best of Marque Award

-Pacific Sotheby’s International Realty Timeless Elegance Award

-Chairman’s Award

-Mayor’s Award

-LJCDE American Icon Award

-Aubrey Taylor Award of Excellence for Best Upholstery

-Honorary Judges’ Choice Award

-People’s Choice Award

-La Jolla Historical Society Heritage Award

-Phillip Wichard Trophy for Excellence in Design

-The Chuck Spielman Preservation Award

-Chief Judge Award

-Marc Camille Lemieux Award

-Emcee Award

-Restorer of the Year Award

La Jolla Motor Car Classic at the Concours Awards

-Motor Car Classic Best in Show

-Douglass R. Pratte Memorial Award

-1st Place/2nd Place/3rd Place Per Club